New Officers of the All UP Academic Employees Union – Diliman Chapter (2011-2014)

Posted on March 22, 2011


On March 11, 2011, during its 4th General Assembly at the Claro M. Recto Hall, Faculty Center, members of the All UP Academic Employees Union (AUPAEU) – Diliman Chapter elected via consensus its new set of officers. Of its nine-member council of officers, five are faculty members and four are REPS members. The following officers will serve for a term of three years (2011-2014):


President – Prof. Mykel Andrada

Vice President for REPS – Ms. Celes Vallejos

Vice President for Faculty – Dr. Rommel Rodriguez

Secretary – Prof. Sharon Anne Pangilinan

Treasurer – Prof. Katrina Macapagal

Directors at Large (Four):

Ms. Arlene de la Cruz

Mr. JR Sanchez

Ms. Glennis Uyanguren

Prof. Bernadette Neri


In its first official meeting last March 21, 2011 at the AUPAEU Office, Mindaluz Quesada Hall, First Floor, Vinzons Hall, outgoing Diliman council officers headed by Dr. Ramon Guillermo were invited for a transition meeting and oath-taking. The new officers swore to uphold the tenets of democratic governance, to abide by the AUPAEU constitution, and to fight for the rights and welfare of the REPS and faculty sectors, the UP community, and the nation.


The AUPAEU – Diliman Chapter, in the said meeting, also resolved to allot a P10,000-cash donation for the staff, faculty and students of the UP Manila School of Health Sciences in Palo, Leyte who are affected by last week’s heavy downpour and flood. The said amount will be coursed through the AUPAEU – Tacloban Chapter.


In the principle of forwarding the interests of all the sectors in UP and fighting for the rights and welfare of the REPS and administrative staff sectors, the AUPAEU – Diliman Chapter also resolved to support and campaign for Mr. Jossel Ebesate for Staff Regent. The Diliman Council believes that Mr. Ebesate is best suited to be the next Staff Regent because of his track record of leadership and his experiences and commitment in advancing the rights and welfare of both the administrative staff and the REPS sectors. Mr. Ebesate is the Vice President of the All UP Workers Union – Manila Chapter and is an active member of the All UP Workers Alliance, of which AUPAEU is a member of.


The AUPAEU – Diliman Chapter will be making a comprehensive plan for the next three years. The Diliman chapter enjoins all faculty and REPS to be members of the union. It also highly recommends that members of the union participate actively via its standing committees such as Health and Housing, Women and Gender, Membership, and Education and Research, among others.


Posted in: Uncategorized